Excelsior Springs License Bureau
Fax 816-630-6610 - $2.00 fax fee will apply
115 Crown Hill Road
Excelsior Springs, MO 64024
9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday through Friday
8:30 a.m. - 12 p.m. 1st, 3rd, and last Saturday of the month
8 a.m. - 5 p.m. last four (4) days of the month, except Saturday
We provide curb service for those who are disabled and cannot get inside the License Bureau. Call 816-630-6612 for information.
||The Excelsior Springs License Bureau is under the management of the Excelsior Springs Chamber of Commerce with Nena McKown, pictured left, serving as office manager.
Missouri Resident Titling Requirements | Legal Responsibilities | Gifting Your Vehicle |
Notice of Sale Reporting Requirement
What You Need to Renew Your License Plates
To renew your license plates, you will need:
1. A Vehicle Registration Renewal notice or bring your plate number if you did not receive a renewal notice.
2. A Missouri safety inspection certificate, less than 60 days old.
3. A paid personal property tax receipt (original, copy, or electronic if legible) or a statement of non-assessment from your county of residence for the previous year for a one year registration. If the registration you are renewing was a two-year registration, tax receipts or statements from the prior two years must be submitted.
4. A current insurance identification card (original, copy, or electronic if legible) or other proof of financial responsibility.
5. A $5 renewal penalty will be charged if you renew your plates after the expiration date.
Missouri Resident Titling Requirements
You have 30 days from the date of purchase to title and pay sales tax on your newly purchased vehicle. If you do not title the vehicle within 30 days, there is a title penalty of $25 on the 31st day after purchase. The penaly increases another $25 for every 30 days you are late with a maximum penalty of $200.
To title a motor vehicle in the state of Missouri, the owner must submit the following:
• The Certificate of Title, properly signed over to you (see instructions), or Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO).
• A signed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108); if bought by a dealer.
• An identification number and odometer (ID/OD) inspection, if ownership of the motor vehicle was transferred to you on a title issued by another state or county. This inspection can be completed by a Missouri authorized inspection station. A current safety inspection will satisfy this requirement.
• A notarized Lien Release (Form 4809), if applicable.
To obtain a Missouri title and registration (license plates) on a motor vehicle currently titled in another state, you must submit the following:
1. An ownership document such as:
• Title from the previous state or county where the vehicle was titled; or
• Registration Certificate or proof of ownership in accordance with the laws of the previous state or country, if there is an active lien on the vehicle and the lienholder currently holds the out-of-state title;
NOTE: If one of the ownership documents listed above is not available, please contact a license office for additional information and assistance.
NOTE: If there is a lien on the vehicle, you should obtain the title from the lienholder to submit with your application. The lien will remain in force. When the Missouri title is issued, the lien will appear on the face of the title. Missouri titles are mailed to the vehicle owner. If you are unable to obtain the title, please contact us at 573-526-3669.
A current insurance identification card (original or copy) or other proof of financial responsibility.
2. Statement of non-assessment from your county or assessor's office showing you do not owe personal property taxes in the county.
3. *A Missouri safety inspection not more than 60 days old;
4. Identification number and odometer (ID/OD) inspection. All motor vehicles previously titled in another state or country must be inspected to verify the vehicle identification number and odometer reading of the vehicle. This inspection can be completed by a Missouri authorized inspection station. A safety inspection or emissions inspection will satisfy this requirement.
Note: Effective January 1, 2010, motor vehicles are exempt from the safety inspection requirement for the first five year following the model year of manufacture. This is true regardless of whether or not a change of ownership occurs during this time frame. Example: a 2006 vehicle will be exempt from the safety inspection in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2011.
When you sell a vehicle in a private transaction, between individuals, you have certain legal responsibilities.
You must provide the following to the vehicle buyer:
• Properly assigned Certificate of Title (see instructions);
• *Safety inspection certificate, less than 60 days old;
• Lien Release (Form 4809), notarized, if applicable.
*If the buyer is an out of state resident, please contact that state for the inspection requirements.
Before the purchaser takes possession of the vehicle, remove your license plates (whether they are valid or expired).
Remember: All sellers and purchasers must print their names and sign the back of the title in the assignment area. These signatures do not need to be notarized. The seller must write in the odometer reading and date of sale. You may not use correction fluid (white-out) or erase marks from the title.
Gifting Your Vehicle
You must provide the following to the new vehicle owner:
Properly assigned Certificate of Title (see instructions) with the word "GIFT" placed in the sale price area (Do not use a sale price of $1);
A safety inspection certificate, less than 60 days old;
General Affidavit (Form 768) or a written statement indicating the vehicle was given as a gift.
Note: The General Affidavit or statement does not have to be notarized. You must also report the gift (transfer) to the Department of Revenue within 30 days by submitting a Notice of Sale (Form 5049) or Bill of Sale (Form 1957) form.
The new vehicle owner:
Must submit the completed General Affidavit with the other required title and registration documents;
Will not pay state or local tax on a gift transaction;
And Cannot use or transfer the license plates that were on the vehicle at the time it was gifted (if applicable).
Note: A vehicle cannot be gifted two times in a row.
Notice of Sale Reporting Requirement
You must report the sale of your vehicle to the Department of Revenue.
Effective January 1, 2006, the seller of a motor vehicle, trailer, or all-terrain vehicle must report the sale within 30 days to the Department of Revenue (department).
Sellers, other than Missouri licensed dealers, must submit a completed Notice of Sale (Form 5049) or Bill of Sale (Form 1957) form to report the sale.
If your title has been lost, mutilated, or destroyed, you may apply for a duplicate title.
To apply for a duplicate title, you must submit:
An Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108), completed in full and signed, including the following:
• Indicate a Missouri address;
• Mark the block labeled "DUPLICATE" at the top of the form to indicate you are applying for a duplicate title;
• Complete the notary information near the bottom of the form, where it is marked "Notary-Dup. Title Only," and indicate the reason you need the duplicate;
• Have the form notarized. Your signature must be witnessed by a notary public, and the notary must complete the notarization box in the block marked "Duplicate Title Only".
If you are applying for a duplicate title because your original title was mutilated, you must return the mutilated title with your application for a duplicate.
• If the title is to be mailed to an address other than that indicated in the owner's portion of the application, and no lien (loan) is indicated, please place an "X" in the "Mail To" block and write or type that address in the space provided.
• A title may be mailed to an address other than that indicated in the owner's portion of the application if there is only one lien (loan) indicated.
• If applicable, a notarized Lien Release (Form 4809) is required.
Return to top